Conlibe: Political Blog for TRUTH in Politics.

Liberal Opinion Blog. Boston, Massachusetts. Political Democrat, Independent. Debunk Republican Lies, Misinformation

Michael Capuano

As a relatively recent Massachusetts resident, I know about Mike Dukakis. I have heard about Mayor Kevin White. I could have recognized Ted Kennedy anywhere.

John Kerry, Mitt Romney, Deval Patrick are household names. I’ve seen Martha Coakley so much on TV; I’d probably know her anywhere.

How can I not know about Barney Frank or the intrepid Steven Lynch.

(Lynch, in my opinion and in the eyes of many others) embarrassed himself before America by chastising Edward Liddy, the new CEO of A.I.G, American International Group. AIG and its convoluted deal-making was the catalyst behind the financial meltdown.

Mr. Libby left retirement because the government asked him to come and help unravel the AIG mess and help clean house…a job Libby decided to do for a dollar-a-year!

But at a Congressional Hearing, our representative, Mr. Lynch, decided to live up to his name and lynch Libby for paying out huge bonuses after AIG’s bailout.

Libby, who was just one cog on a bigger wheel of blame, took offense at Mr. Lynch’s statement. To which our congressman replied, with a mixture of pomp, sarcasm and Shakespearean drama: “Well, offense was intended…so you take it rightfully, sir.” At least he was polite!

Yes, I know about Mr. Lynch. He made his mark with this one!

I even know about Sheriff Andrea Cabral, the die-hard Hillary Clinton supporter and of course Mayor Menino and challengers Michael Flaherty, Sam Yoon and even Kevin McCrea. But who is Mike Capuano?

He’s running for Ted Kennedy’s vacant seat, but I had to Google him. I don’t know whom it says more about – Capuano, or me?!

According to his website, Michael Everett Capuano is serving his sixth term as a Representative in Congress for Massachusetts’ Eighth District, which includes Cambridge, Chelsea, Somerville and approximately 70-percent of Boston.

Boston? Really? Where have I been?

Mr. Capuano is a member of the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, the House Committee on Financial Services and the Committee on House Administration. He is chair of the Subcommittee on Capitol Security.

In November of 2006, Capuano was appointed to head the Transition by then Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi as Democrats prepared for a majority role in the 110th Congress. In January of 2007, Speaker Pelosi appointed Capuano to chair the Special Task Force on Ethics Enforcement.

The current congressman was Mayor (1990-1998) of Boston’s neighboring city of Somerville, MA and holds a law degree from Boston College Law School.

I have heard the name Capuano before in connection with politics. But I knew nothing about him. And for somebody who’s serving his sixth term in congress, I find that odd.

But now, I shall not forget congressman Capuano. Just like Congressman Stephen Lynch, he burned his id on me (Can that happen?) on Sunday (October 4, 2009).

Boston’s local ABC affiliate, WCVB, started a new Sunday morning show called: “On The Record”. It’s a bit like “This Week with George Stephanopoulos” meets the Jim Braude Show (NECN).

According to WCVB, the weekly show (hosts Ed Harding and political reporter Janet Wu) aims to ask some of the tough questions of politicians in the Bay State, getting candidates to speak about the issues On The Record.

Sunday’s guest was U.S. Representative Michael Capuano…and boy, did he go On My Record.

Mr. Capuano is running for senate on the premise that HE can best carry on Ted Kennedy’s legacy.

In the question segment Harding suggested that since Capuano wants to be the Senator from Massachusetts, should he win, these questions on current events are likely to cross his desk at some point.

1. Who is the PRIME MINISTER OF PAKISTAN?

Mr. Capuano didn’t know
.

Answer: Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani (56)

(Not that I know either. But I’m not running for the senate and so I can Google the answer.)

2. Next question: Since 2001, what’s the cost of the Afghanistan war?

Mr. Capuano didn’t know. Harding said: 227.9 million. Capuano said he’d have guessed lower; about 180 million. Harding said, not million, Billion – with a B! I can’t figure out if Harding made an honest mistake!

3. Question number 3: What is HR3200?

Capuano didn’t know. Even I know that one. Hello? Angry town hall meetings? Public Option? It’s The Health Care Bill.

4. Question number four (multiple choice): How many kids/teens in the U.S. are obese: 1 in 3, one in 30, one in 300, one in 3-thousand?. Capuano got it.

Yes!

I don’t know what else they talked about – I tuned out after that.

Really congressman Capuano..? What if Harding had asked you about the viability of Ireland’s Technology Industry and whether it was siphoning jobs away from Massachusetts?

Oh well, what can I say?

Clearly, Mike Capuano is NO Ted Kennedy!

4 Comments»

  Rob wrote @

I’m a Coakley supporter, but I like Capuano and that pop quiz was cheap I thought.

  conlibe wrote @

I hadn’t thought of it like that, but now that you mention it, that quiz IS sort of tacky. However, as a 6-term congressman, and someone who WANTS to replace Ted Kennedy, Capuano should at least have known that the publicly/widely discussed/controversial HR3200 was the Health Care Bill, that Kennedy championed! Thanks…

  rightismight wrote @

Wonder if we can see that show- any idea if it’s been YouTubed or Hulu?

I understand some of those were tough questions but as a member of Congress for 6 terms- not knowing the healthcare bill- wow- that’s stunning

  conlibe wrote @

WCVB Channel 5 has it on their website – try searching capuano on the record. ..or try this link: http://www.thebostonchannel.com/multimedia/m/video/26669804/on-the-record-mike-capuano-segment-2.htm?q=capuano+on+the+record
Thanks. Please note, I’m NOT anti-Capuano; just reacting to his performance.


Please Leave a Reply

