Conlibe: Political Blog for TRUTH in Politics.

Liberal Opinion Blog. Boston, Massachusetts. Political Democrat, Independent. Debunk Republican Lies, Misinformation

The Audacity of Martha

I love our Attorney General here in Massachusetts – Madam Martha Coakley.

How can you not love somebody who did not wait on a Kennedy roundtable…before announcing her intention to run for Ted Kennedy’s vacant Senate seat?

So far she’s the only woman who’s stepped up, and compared to all the potential male candidates who are expressing …or not expressing…interest, she’s the only one who’s showing any balls!

Good for you, Martha. You had the audacity (and the balls, yes?) to make a decision that shows you have a streak of independence (like me) or an unwillingness to Kow-tow (like me) or a tendency to Kick Ass (like me) or act stupidly and impulsively (again, like moi!).

But at the end of the day when everybody else is rushing to the medicine cabinet for Rolaids or Aspirin, we are feeling good about ourselves. Yes…I love you, Martha Coakley.

I understand why all the other candidates felt they needed to wait for an invitation to sit at the table – and I understand why you gate-crashed!

I understand why all the other candidates felt they needed to get the Kennedy family blessing before eating their meal – and I understand why you grabbed a loaf!

I understand why all other candidates felt they needed to kiss the Kennedy family’s er, feet? And I understand why you said: Well, you know what you said!

However, like I heard in one news report, the Kennedy family is not happy with you, Martha!

I referred to this in an earlier blog, where I mentioned that the Kennedys were reportedly furious with New York governor David Patterson (according to news reports. None of the Kennedys confided in me). They apparently thought/still think that Patterson contributed to Caroline Kennedy’s brief/disastrous bid for Hillary Clinton’s vacant Senate seat.

Now, apparently the Kennedys (again, according to news reports) may not support Madam Attorney General Coakley because of her audacity of hope and presumption.

So far, though, I think you’re looking good, Coakley. Many people secretly admire you for taking the plunge.

The other potential candidates come across as weak. This is an open Senate seat and anybody can run – including the Kennedys. If they are as popular and well-loved as they appear to be, then they should be able to withstand and easily crush any opposition.

I don’t get what all the drama was about! Our next Senator from Massachusetts won’t be a Kennedy. US Representative Joseph P. Kennedy II announced Monday (Sept. 07, 2009) that he would NOT run for his uncle’s seat.

Today is September 09. Potential candidates who want to secure a spot on the December 08 primary ballot have until October 20 to deliver at least 10-thousand voter signatures to local officials for certification. The election is January 19.

Since Joe Kennedy’s announcement, several candidates have crawled out from the woodwork where they were conveniently hiding.

According to news reports, the growing list of other potential candidates includes political names like:

• Republican Christy Mihos. He ran for governor in 2006 and lost badly. (Last night he was prepared to give up his current bid for MA governor and spend $10M on a Senate run – few minutes ago, Mihos backed out).

• US Representative Michael Capuano, Democrat.

• US Representative Stephen Lynch, Democrat.

To them I say: Go see the Wizard of OZ. Ask him to give you some courage…and some testosterone, or balls, whichever! And when he’s done working his magic on you, if he can, then maybe…just maybe… you should run!

1 Comment»

  JimmyBean wrote @

I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

A definite great read..Jim Bean


Please Leave a Reply

